National Symposium on Light - Matter Interactions (NSLIMI 2019)

Dec. 26, 2019, ICSR Hall -II,  IIT Madras, Chennai

Tentative Program schedule

Dec. 26, 2019

ICSR Hall II, IIT Madras, Chennai 600036

8:00-9:00 AM


9:00-9:30 AM



Session I:  Chairpersons:  Prof.  C. Vijayan & Dr. Deepa Venkitesh, IIT Madras

9:30-10:00 AM

Prof. Kankan Bhattacharya

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal

Live cell microscopy: a physical chemistry approach

10:00 AM-10:30 AM

Prof. VPN Nampoori

Cochin University of Science and Technology, Cochin

Random lasers- materials, methods and applications

10:30 AM-11:00 AM

Dr. J. Jayabalan

RRCAT, Indore

Static and Ultrafast Optical Response of Metal-Semiconductor Hybrid Nanostructures


11:00 AM-11:15 AM



Session II:  Chairpersons:  Prof. Balaji Srinivasan  & Prof. P. Shammugam, IIT Madras



Prof. Nirmal Viswanathan

University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad

Spin-orbit interaction: from paraxial light to optical components

11:45 AM- 12:15 PM

Dr. V R Supradeepa

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

High power, high coherence fiber lasers: controlling light matter interactions in a systemic level

12:15 PM- 12:45 PM

Dr. Ayan  Banerjee

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata

Observation of spin momentum locking and effects of the Belinfante spin in a tightly focused Gaussian beam

12:45 PM-1:15 PM

Dr. Umakanta Tripathy

Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad,

Nonlinear magic with monoamine neurotransmitters

1:15 PM-2:00 PM

Lunch (IC&SR mini dining Hall)


Session III:  Chairpersons:  Prof. D N. Rao, UoH Hyderabad & Prof. Shanti Bhattacharya, IIT Madras

2:00 PM-2:30 PM

Prof. G. Krishnamurthy

Anna University, Chennai

Fluorescence window reveals the population distribution during collapse and folding of a small protein


2:30 PM-3:00 PM

Dr. M. L. Shah

Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai

Laser spectroscopy to explore the atomic parameters


Session IV:   Chairpersons: Prof. A R Ganesan &  Dr. M.K. Jain

3:00 PM-4:30 PM 

Poster Session   & TEA :                      Posters (P1-P55)


Session V: Special session to commemorate DD PANT:  Chairperson:  Prof. A. K. Mishra & Prof. VV Raghvendra Sai

4:30 PM-5:00 PM

Dr. Sanjay Pant

Kumaun University, Naini Tal

Current status of the photophysics laboratory, Naini Tal and fluorescence based sensing using organic fluorophores


5:00 PM-5:20 PM

Prof. Preeti Joshi

Formerly at NIMHANS, Bangalore

Reminiscences (1)  of  Prof. D. D. Pant

5:20 PM-5:40 PM

Prof. N. Periasamy

Formerly at TIFR, Mumbai

Reminiscences (2) of Prof. D. D Pant.

5:40 PM-6:00 PM

Valedictory & Concluding Session