agri 1

Rural Technology Development and Delivery 2020

RuTAG, Indian Institute of Technology Madras

agri 2

2nd international conference on “Rural Technology Development and Delivery (RTDD“during 12-14 March 2020

About RTDD2020

IIT Madras will organize and host the 2nd international conference on “Rural Technology Development and Delivery (RTDD)” during 12-14 March 2020.

The conference envisages bringing together researchers and practitioners in the field of rural technology solutions. The sessions will involve discussions of their achievements, difficulties and the way forward in coming years. It also aims to demonstrate how many of the rural problems can be treated as R&D challenges. Focus on ‘Dissemination’, and ‘Scaling of Rural Innovations’ will also be highlighted in the conference.

The 1st conference, RTDD 2018  was organized by IIT Delhi, and it focused  on bringing together  faculty  and  students  from  all RuTAGs to  discuss  their  achievements, difficulties,  challenges  and  the  way  forward  in next 10-15  years.  In  addition,  other  organizations working  in  the  similar  directions  were  invited to  submit  papers  and  participate  to  evolve  a sustainable synergy between participants. The  conference also had discussions on ‘Dissemination’  and  ‘Scaling  of  Rural  Innovations’, and  possibility  of  funding  through  other  Schemes  of the  Government. For the proceedings, please refer to Rural Technology Development and Delivery: RuTAG and Its Synergy with Other Initiatives.

About RuTAG

Rural Technology Action Group (RuTAG) is an initiative conceptualized and supported by the Office of the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Govt. of India, since 2004. It was conceived as a mechanism to provide a higher level demand driven S&T interventions for rural areas through IITs and other technical institutions. RuTAG attempts to bring about a successful interface between the rural majority and technical institutions of excellence through a field-level S&T organization. RuTAG centers have been established at seven IITs (Madras, Guwahati, Kharagpur, Delhi, Roorkee, Bombay, and Kanpur: given hyperlinks to all RUTAG centers) and 45 technologies have been developed and field tested so far.